CloudStack® training

CloudStack 4.2 Bootcamp Training Course

These fast paced training courses will give you the core skills needed to build and operate your CloudStack™ cloud. Our instructors all have real-world CloudStack™ implementation experience and are regular contributors to the Apache CloudStack™ project. The courses are a combination of instructor led learning and hands-on labs. This course covers Apache CloudStack™ 4.2″ and Citrix CloudPlatform® 4.2

 

Classroom courses

We currently offer classroom based courses in London UK , Bangalore India and Sao Paulo Brazil.

Online Courses

Our online, instructor led, courses are run over a 5 day period at the following times:

REGION A   REGION B
  • US West (PST) 9am – 12pm
  • US East (EST) 12pm – 3pm
  • UK (GMT) 5pm – 8pm
  • Europe (CET) 6pm – 9pm

           

  • India (IST) 9.30am – 12.30pm
  • Singapore (SGT) 12pm – 3pm
  • China (CST) 12pm – 3pm
  • Australia (EST) 2pm – 5pm
  • New Zealand (NZDT) 4pm – 7pm

 

Please ensure that you choose the correct region course when booking. 

All of our  courses  are limited to 12 students to ensure everyone gets thorough attention. All demonstrations, training and labs are untaken in a self-contained virtualised environment hosted on ShapeBlue’s purpose-built CloudStack Training Environment, based on Apache CloudStack™ 4.2, course is also relevant for Citrix CloudPlatform® 4.2

ShapeBlue are the leading independent integrator of Apache Cloudstack™ and Citrix CloudPlatform®

Course Content

 

  • What is CloudStack?
  • What is CloudStack?
  • The CloudStack UI
  • CloudStack Architecture
  • The CloudStack networking models
  • ◦Basic mode
  • ◦Security Groups
  • ◦Advanced mode
  • Physical Networks
  • System VM’s (including the virtual router)
  • Using VMware with CloudStack
  • Using XenServer with CloudStack
  • Adding Zones, Pods, Clusters and Hosts
  • Primary Storage
  • Secondary Storage
  • Creating Service Offerings
  • ◦Compute
  • ◦Disk
  • ◦Network

  • System VM’s (including the virtual router)
  • Adding Zones, Pods, Clusters and Hosts
  • Domains, Accounts and Users
  • Limits
  • Notifications and Thresholds
  • Allocation Algorithms
  • VM Deployment and Management
  • Managing Volumes
  • Managing Templates & ISOs
  • Snapshots
  • Virtual Private Cloud
  • Working with the CloudStack API
  • Troubleshooting
  • Working with the CloudStack database
  • The Apache CloudStack community
  • Domains, Accounts and Users
  • Limits
  • Notifications and Thresholds

The course is limited to 12 students. All course materials will be provided. Labs are untaken in a self-contained virtualised environment on the students own PC. Lunch and refreshments will be provided on both days.

Delegate experience and technical ability 

Students should have the following skills in order to attend this course:

  • Experience using the Linux CLI
  • General experience of networking and visualization

Laptop Requirements (for classroom based courses)

To participate in our hands-on labs, we ask students to bring a laptop that meets the following requirements:

  • Windows or MAC Laptop
  • 4GB RAM (8GB preferred)
  • 64Bit OS
  • NIC for Wired Network – WiFi is not compatible with VirtualBox Nested Virtualisation
  • Web Browser – IE, Chrome, Safari or Firefox are suitable
  • Latest version of Oracle VirtualBox
  • SSH client such as Putty, Cygwin or native OSX Terminal are all suitable
  • A PDF reader for displaying the lab guides

Laptop Requirements (for online courses)

To participate in our hands-on labs, we ask students to bring a laptop that meets the following requirements:

  • Windows or MAC
  • Web Browser – IE, Chrome, Firefox or Safari are suitable
  • SSH Client such as Putty, Cygwin, or native OSX Terminal are all suitable
  • A PDF reader for displaying the interactive Lab Guides
  • Ability to create a VPN connection
  • Ability to install Citrix GoToTraining software (can be viewed here: http://support.citrixonline.com/GoToTraining/all_files/GTT010003)
  • Headphones or speakers to listen to instructor led sessions
  • Free of any Corporate IT Polices which would prevent any of the above functioning correctly

As the course is on-line you should ensure the location from which you intend to join the course has a strong, stable internet connection. We cannot take any responsibility for local network or comms failure.